Skip to content

Get over it, Gamecock fans

November 8, 2011

When people need positive reinforcement or just a little encouragement in their lives, they will often look to me and – and then quickly move on.

However, I myself am astounded and disturbed by all the negativity currently surrounding University of South Carolina Fighting Gamecock Chickens Football.

For the love of God, people, we’re 7-2 with a real chance to again win the SEC East!

In the 28 seasons since I first set foot on the University of South Carolina Fighting Gamecock Chickens campus as a student, we’ve averaged 5.8 wins per season – which incidentally is just 8/10ths more than the number of coaches we’ve burned through in that same time.

I didn’t leave my house on March 6, 2002; I once asked for a new room when the hotel clerk handed me a key to Room 362; I walked straight out of McDonald’s without accepting my order or swiping my debit card one day when the bill came to $3.62; all because you just know there is a wicked curse waiting to be unleashed in a universe where a football team can have a 3-6-2 record twice within five years! And then we came within 5 points of tying Kentucky – Kentucky! – to finish with the same record four seasons later!

We’ve finished 5-6 or 6-5 so many times that the NCAA added a 12th game to the season just to break up the monotony and fix it so the Gamecocks could finish 5-7 a couple of times.

And please, for the sake of all that is good and holy, do not speak to me of 1998-99, when our our winning percentage was just below A-Rod’s average with runners in scoring position during the late innings of a postseason baseball game.

We’re 7-2, people! Yes, the Auburn game is as inexcusable as it is inexplicable, but we lost to a Top 10 program in Fayetteville, Arkansas with a backup quarterback, the 5th-string tailback and a freshman tackle on the field – and still had a chance to win the damn game in the fourth quarter.

Yes, yes, yes, I know all about the soft bigotry of low expectations. If we expect the Gamecocks to win 5.8 games, we can all be happy with a 7-5 record, right? Except I’m not the one with low expectations – you get that courtesy of all the moaners.

I WANT to win 12 games (counting the SEC Championship Game and the Sugar Bowl to follow) and I will be BITTERLY disappointed if, at this point, Georgia beats Auburn and we end up 8-5 after another blowout loss in the Outback Bowl. But in the meantime, I don’t see a whole lot of reason to jump clean off the bandwagon.

Have we looked good in all seven of our wins? No, but I don’t recall feeling particularly better when we played good and ALMOST beat a whole bunch of teams in the last 28 seasons either.

Get over it, Gamecock fans.

From → Sports

One Comment
  1. Ironman! permalink

    AMEN!! It’s good to be a Gamecock, be competitive, and win for a change!

Leave a Reply

