Skip to content

Tastes Like Bacon

August 31, 2011

It's generally been my experience that anything involving bacon is good. (The exception might be turkey bacon – which like decaffeinated coffee or non-alcholic beer  – just makes me scratch my head and say, "Why?)   The guys at 2 Fat 2 Fly found a way to stuff bacon into a chicken wing, which is probably the greatest culinary innovation the world has known since somebody had the idea to stick a couple slices of bacon on a cheeseburger.  Admittedly, I haven't tried bacon ice cream yet, but I can't imagine it would be anything other than delicious.

But just the other night, my bacon winning streak came to an abrupt end when I tried a Samuel Adams Bonfire Rauchbier.

I know what you're thinking: bacon, beer, throw in a house devoid of wife and children with 14 hours of football on the TV and we're talking man-heaven.

Alas, a beer that tastes like bacon just doesn't do it for me. In fact, the rauchbier ended two winning streaks for me. In nearly 30 years of beer-drinking, I'd never poured one out because I didn't like it.

On the other hand, the rest of the Sam Adams Harvest Collection is great, especially the Irish Red, which is truly one of the best beers I've ever tasted.

Plenty of people like the rauchbiers, and since I've taken up serious tasting, I've found a number of beers I didn't know I liked: hefeweizsen, kolsch, IPAs (which I wasn't too fond of before for some reason).

One thing's for sure – I'm going to have to taste a lot more beer to find something I like as much as Guinness.

Related articles

Zemanta helped me add links & pictures to this email. It can do it for you too.
From → Beer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

